MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT <u>HELD: March 3, 1988</u>

THE STATE OF TEXAS

COUNTY OF FRANKLIN

FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT

ON THIS the 3rd day of March 1988, the Board of Directors of the Franklin County Water District convened in CALLED SESSION at their office located at 114 North Houston Street on the East side of the square in Mount Vernon, Texas, with the following members present:

ELWYN CARR	PRESIDENT
KENNETH JAGGERS	VICE PRESIDENT
EDSON REYNOLDS	SECRETARY
BILLY M. JORDAN	DIRECTOR
O. R. HENRY	DIRECTOR

and with the following members absent: None.

Also present were Reeves Hayter and David Falls of Hayter Engineering; Cass Taliaferro; Randy Looney of McKinney & Moore, Inc.; John Martin of Ajax Construction; Frank Stotler of E. S.T. Building Inc.; Don Cody of Diamond K.; John Smithen of Cole & Smithen Construction; E. C. Withers; and Shirley Maples.

The President called the meeting to order, declared a quorum present, and that the meeting was duly convened and ready to transact business.

NOTICE of the meeting was given, stating the time, place, and purpose, all as required by Vernon's Ann. Civ. Statutes, Article 6252-17.

MOTION was made by Kenneth Jaggers, and SECONDED by Billy Jordan, to close bids on the construction of W. D. Jack Guthrie Park. The President put the question, and after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO".

Invocation was given by Billy Jordan.

Bids were opened and bid bonds checked. The bids were as follows:

Cole & Smithen	Denison	\$399,875.00
Ajax Construction	Lufkin	\$419,692.00
McKinney & Moore	Jacksonville	\$353,526.90
E. S. T. Bldg. & Dev.	Abilene	\$248,089.50
R. & K. Energy	Mt. Pleasant	\$384,692.14

The President announced that the District's engineer is to validate the bids to make sure they meet the District's specifications. The contract letting to be considered at the March 14 meeting of the Directors.

Manager Withers advised the Board that grant monies are available at the rate of 75ϕ on the dollar for construction of the boat ramps. The District is making application for same.

The Board read a policy proposal regarding employee salaries, review the evaluation report used by the District in the past, and a new evaluation report to be put to use.

The Manager presented a proposal for granting raises and eliminating the pay scale originally adopted by the Board. MOTION was made by O. R. Henry and SECONDED by Kenneth Jaggers to approved the proposed policy. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO". A copy of the policy is attached hereto and made a part hereof.

MOTION was made by Billy M. Jordan, and SECONDED by O. R. Henry, to approve the rate increase as proposed except that the maintenance workers be granted a 5% increase instead of the 3% proposed. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO". A copy of the proposal is attached hereto and made a part hereof.

After further discussion, MOTION was made by Billy Jordan, and SECONDED by O. R. Henry, to rescind the action on the supervisors' increase in salary as set out on the proposal. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO".

MOTION was made by Kenneth Jaggers, and SECONDED by Edson Reynolds, to grant a 4.080% increase in salary for Phillip Conner and a 3% increase in salary for the office manager, maintenance foreman, and the District Manager. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon, all

members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO". A list of the salaries adopted are attached hereto and made a part hereof.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

MINUTES approved this the 14th day of March 1988.

Elwyn Carr, President Kenneth Jaggers, Vice President Edson Reynolds, Secretary Billy M. Jordan, Director O. R. Henry, Director